Nemo: Berlin – Alan Moore

nemo_roses_of_berlin_cover_sm_lg

Another League of Extraordinary Gentlemen story, meaning that everything within it is a reference to some famous work of literature. This book demonstrates how that approach can go wrong, by telling a story set in the World War Two Berlin where every character, prop and setting is pulled from some German story I haven’t read. I caught the references to Metropolis and Doctor Mabuse but everything else confused me. I get the feeling that wtih these Nemo books that I’d have to read them all in one sitting to really enjoy them. Still, I loved Moore’s prose epilogue, written in the voice of a slightly drunk gossip columnist.

Leave a Reply

