Heaven Can Wait

img011

A fotonovel is a book that adapts a film by arranging stills in a sequential order, overlaid with dialogue from the script – essentially a glossy comic book with pictures. The term comes from Italy, I think.

Heaven Can Wait is a seventies movie about an American athlete who swaps bodies with a millionaire after a near death experience.

I paid twenty cents for this.

a-fish-who-thinks

I read Heaven Can Wait a while back, in a month starting with J. For some reason I never got round to reviewing it here, although as you can I see I put together a collection of inexpert scans of the thing. The woman’s hair is memorable, to say the least.

abbott-in-bed

These are all out of order, by the way. That makes them funnier, though this actually looks like a pretty good film.

abbott-stifles-a-scream

I love the onomatopoeia in all this.

coca

Best interrogation answer ever.

confused-maid

She looks more stunned than confused, but whatever.

gods-first-string

Even if you ignore the supernatural angle of the narrative, it’s clear the protagonist is insane.

good-cheer

The picture on the left is me at every party. Whoever drew the onomatopoeias must’ve known what they were doing to a small extent, that ‘Good Cheer!’ sign is obviously sarcastic. I love it.

Joe's funeral.jpg

“I hope that God makes you first string.” The fact that I have no idea what that actually means makes it all the more hilarious.

Liberal party fundraiser.jpg

I really love the white text, that tells us what we should already know.

Screech!.jpg

I know this is a comedy, but all this sound effects are too much.

tony abbot tried to kill him excerpt.jpg

Extraordinary allegations against a former Australian prime minister here. And really, it’d be far from the worse thing he’s ever done.

tony abbot tried to kill him.jpg

A wider version of the previous image. I like their sheets, the pattern is like something you’d expect to see on kitchen curtains.

Tony Abbott 1.jpg

Dear god, I just realised Tony Abbott is conspiring with a woman called Julia. She could do so much better. A dead slug could do better.

wow.jpg

Wow is how I’d describe this entire experience. Read it, if you ever get the chance. It actually works a lot better then you’d think.

Leave a Reply

