Superman in the Seventies – Various Artists

Fair Use.Even in the Seventies, Superman was a nut.

Pretty much everything I said in my review of Superman in the Sixties applies here.

This volume contains the famous story where Louis Lane uses Kryptonian technology to become black, and the Jack Kirby story where Jimmy Olsen became the leader of a motorbike gang. (There’s just no stopping some people). What I like in this period of Superman’s history was that the Daily Planet was bought out by the morally ambiguous businessman Morgan Edge, which leads to Clark Kent being a correspondent on television news for a bit. I think that Edge was involved in Intergang, but I liked the character anyway.

The art is good, the writing is good, everything’s good but nothing’s absolutely memorable.

For a better look at Superman in the Seventies, I recommend reading Jack Kirby’s Fourth Wall Collection. (There’s four volumes, I’ve only read the first three.) Superman shows up in every fourth chapter. It’s beautifully nuts. Darkseid is a bonus, as one of the few genuinely threatening comic villains.

You’d probably only be interested in this volume if you were already interested in Superman. Use that information to decide whether to read this book.

2 comments

  1. I am so happy to have read your post,
    This was such an amazing read. I enjoyed this so much! I just checked out your blog and I have to say I really loved it! So I hope you keep writing so I can keep reading your work! (: (:

    Like

    1. Thanks for the kind comment. Whenever I post about a Superman book I always get a surprising amount of likes. I’m not sure why, but I’m not going to question it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

