Obscure No. 5 – John Cage and Jan Steele

Take the fast train to Lullaby Mountain with Jan Steele and John Cage in this 1976 album freely and legally available from Ubuweb. John Cage is a famous guy, I think he wrote four minutes of silence, but I don’t know that much about him. Some lyrics from the album come from James Joyce and e e cummings poems.

Hard truth time: I’m not certain that I’ve listened to this album all the way through. The first song almost puts me to sleep, and ‘Forever And Sunsmell’ has a similar effect. If I ever needed to sneak past a three-headed dog to steal the philosopher’s stone, my plan to do so would involve three sets of earphones, a complicated triple-adapting-headphone jack, and an Ipod containing nothing but this album. I’m confident enough in my abilities to believe that such a plan would work.

If you’re looking for something ‘unusual’, something a bit ‘quirky’, a tad ‘high brow’, why not give this album a spin?

One thought on “Obscure No. 5 – John Cage and Jan Steele

  1. I can’t believe I have never been on here before! I love your way of writing and your musical taste; good writing + good music, what could be better?
    If you have time, I would really appreciate if you could check out my music blog: http://www.musicified.com (Sorry, I know how annoying this can be.. But I really need the exposure!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

