My Big Fat Calibre Story

Adding two gigabytes to your Calibre library is the closest your computer will get to entering an eating contest. Seattle Municipal Archives, Creative Commons 2.0.

Adding two gigabytes to your Calibre library is the closest your computer will get to entering an eating contest. Seattle Municipal Archives, Creative Commons 2.0.

I have a story of such prosaic hubris I believe that it qualifies me to blog on ebooks. I once downloaded two gigabytes of fanfiction and tried to add to my Calibre library. You see, the fanfiction was in a Epub, a format that my Kindle cannot handle. It was theoretically possible that Calibre could convert all of those books to Mobi. I took a mountaineering approach to the whole thing; I downloaded the ZIP file because it was there.

What actually happened was that Calibre became virtually unusable, taking too long to load and freezing every time I tried to bulk convert books. Before I started writing this blog, I guessed that starting a new library would solve my problem, and it did.

To do this, click the little picture of a bookshelf.

A small Calibre screenshot, showing various buttons

Choose ‘create an empty library at the new location,’ click the blue folder thing to choose a location and then click okay. You’ve now got an empty Calibre library, and the thing will be as fast the you can be.

Another calibre screenshot

I still have the collection of fanfiction Epubs on my computer. It’s actually pretty neat. Each file has the tag describing the author, the intellectual property its based on and whether or not its complete. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

