Wandering Stars – Various Authors

Image used for review purposes only. Source.This is one of the best books I’ve read in 2015.

Wandering Stars is a sci-fi and fantasy anthology themed around Judaism, containing contributions from Isaac Asimov, Robert Silverberg, and Isaac Bashevis Singer. The whole collection was edited by the Australian Jack Dann.

There are at least two stories involving alien converts to Judaism, two others with narrators reminiscent of Tevye the Milkman, and a brilliant love story that inverts life and death. Some of these stories are fairly stereotypical and may prove grating for actual Jews, but then again I don’t really know.

Without hesitation, I recommend this collection to sci-fi devotees.

8 thoughts on “Wandering Stars – Various Authors

  1. Pingback: Super Novel
      1. I’ve read some of the stories already: Ellison’s “I’m Looking for Kadak” and Silverberg’s “The Dybbuk of Mazel Tov”. How was Sargent’s “Blue Roses”? I’ve not enjoyed any of her work so far — but I do have a solo collection of hers with the story….

        Like

      2. From what I vaguely remember, Blue Roses didn’t make much of an impression on me compared to the other stories in the collection. It was one of those tricky psychedelic stories that would’ve benefited from a more attentive reading than I gave it.

        Like

Leave a Reply

